Skip to main content
HomeMurray E. Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award
Background Image URL //

ACZM Murray E. Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award

2023_v2 Murray Fowler Award Winner

Murray E. Fowler is recognized as the father of zoological medicine - a term that he gave the specialty he launched at University of California, Davis in 1967. Dr. Fowler was widely regarded for his teaching, scholarship and clinical practices that have been used to train veterinarians at zoos, universities and wildlife centers globally. He authored the first textbook on zoo animal medicine and was an author or editor of more than 25 books and more than 250 academic papers.  Dr. Fowler was a founding member of the American College of Zoological Medicine (ACZM), the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM), and the American College of Veterinary Toxicology (ACVT). He was a charter member and past-President of the American College of Zoological Medicine (ACZM), past-President of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians (AAZV), and was a member of many other professional organizations including the European Association of Zoo and Wildlife Veterinarians (EAZWV), the Brazilian zoo veterinarians (they even have a group called Groupo Fowler in his honor). He served as Editor of the Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine. (1977-1988), and he was a Trustee of the Morris Animal Foundation (1981-1986), supporting a research fund for wildlife health. During his long career he was a mentor to many of the leaders in the field of zoological medicine today and this award is one way the ACZM will contribute to keeping his legacy alive.

The 2023 recipient of the Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award is
Dr. Scott Citino.

Dr. Scott B. Citino, DVM, DACZM is the 2023 recipient of the Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Citino graduated with his DVM from the Ohio State University (1983) and then completed a zoological medicine internship at the National Zoo. He has held previous veterinary positions at the National Zoo and Miami MetroZoo before starting as the staff veterinarian at White Oak Conservation Centre in Florida where he has provided exemplary care to the endangered species there for over three decades. He also is a clinical associate professor at the University of Florida's College of Veterinary Medicine and has been instrumental in the training of numerous zoological medicine residents over the years.

Dr. Citino has an international scientific presence, having authored or co-authored over 100 peer reviewed publications, multiple textbook chapters, and over 100 abstracts or other scientific presentations. He is internationally recognized for his expertise in non-domestic animal anesthesia, especially with megavertebrate species. In addition, he has an amazing service record, having served on the executive board and president for the American College of Zoological Medicine (ACZM) and the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians (AAZV), and has served on countless other committees, boards, or as a scientific advisor for a multitude of organizations including the International Rhino Foundation, Morris Animal Foundation, Cheetah Conservation Fund, Wildlife Conservation Global for Okapi Conservation, and multiple Sumatran Rhino conservation initiatives. He is a previous recipient of the AAZV's Emil P. Dolensek award.

In the letters of support submitted in support of this nomination there were commonalities in the words used to describe this esteemed individual who is considered an amazing mentor, colleague, and friend to so many. Words such as calm, graceful communication style, selfless, a brilliant and gifted clinician, solid knowledge (of everything) and profound compassion for the amazing creatures on our planet and their conservation in the wild.

Dr. Citino has dedicated his career educating and mentoring others, contributed significantly to the advancement and excellence in zoological medicine and research, and has made an indelible impact on our profession and the world. He has done all of this in his characteristically low-key, humble, and benevolent style.

Award Information:

This award recognizes an ACZM Diplomate that has demonstrated exceptional commitment and contributions to the ACZM while making significant lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. This award was created in honor of Murray Fowler, who was also the award's first designee in 2014. The award was accepted posthumously by Dr. Fowler's wife, Audrey. The award is presented at the annual ACZM business meeting. It is awarded to no more than one Diplomate per year and will only be awarded in years when a Diplomate has been nominated by a member of the college and successfully approved by the ACZM Executive Committee.
To nominate a Diplomate for the ACZM Murray E. Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award a diplomate must submit a letter that provides the reasons for the nomination, two additional letters of support from ACZM members, and the individual's CV.  All nomination materials are sent to the ACZM secretary (

Prior Recipients:
2023: Dr. Scott B. Citino

2022: Dr. James Carpenter

2021: Dr. R. Eric Miller

2020: Dr. Donald Janssen

2018: Dr. Mitch Bush

2017: Dr. Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf

2016: Dr. Kay Mehren

2015: Dr. Dick Montali

2014:  (Inaugural) Dr. Murray E. Fowler